Audio Council

IAB Australia launched the Audio Council in 2015 in response to the growth of the Australian digital audio marketplace. The Council strives to educate marketers and agencies on the value of online audio and podcasts as powerful and effective advertising mediums. The Audio Council has an expert membership base from which to leverage competency and experience, with the following primary goals:

  • Education of and for the digital audio marketplace
  • To develop relevant business models to direct the future of the sector
  • To increase the value of the online audio advertising 
  • To establish standards and guidelines for audio to define the future of the market.

2017 saw the release of the Audio Council’s industry report Audio Advertising: State of the Nation as well as an Audio Glossary and locally approved Podcast Measurement Standards

2018 will see the council focus on the following areas:

  • Release of the 2nd wave of Audio Advertising: State of Nation industry research
  • Audio industry events in Sydney and Melbourne
  • Release of a best practice guide and case studies for creative options across different audio formats
  • Review of improved content and ad measurement for podcasts

Audio Council members:

Audio Council Members - February 2019

Audio Council member representatives:

Gillian Ramsay – ABC

Henrik Isaksson – Acast

Emily Croker – Acast

Geraint Davies – ARN

Jamie Chaux – Commercial Radio

Joan Warner – Commercial Radio

Ralph Van Dijk – Eardrum

Dimitri Ovchinnikoff – Macquarie Media

Jay Walkerden – Nova Entertainment

Sharon Taylor – Omny Studios

Sam Elson – Rubicon Project

Chris Johnson – SCA

Jonathan Mandel – SCA

Danielle Lowry – Seven

Adrian Bingham – Spotify

Zen McCrae – The Trade Desk

Richard Palmer – Triton Digital

Lynn Trang – Verizon Media

Rob Lowenthal – Whooshkaa

The IAB Audio Council had completed and participated in the following recent work:

If you have any questions relating to the work being carried out by this Council, please email

Apply to join this IAB Council